Visayas

San Jose Placer Church

Historical Facts
  • Built in 1607 as La Punta by the Jesuits, the church in Iloilo was later taken over by the Augustinians in 1617 and named San José Church.
  • Renovated in 1873, the church preserved the Jesuits' original structure.
  • Spared from bombing in World War II, it underwent further renovations from 1980 to 1982.
  • San Jose Church is among the few parishes in the Philippines still under Augustinian administration.
Go to nearby Jollibee store